• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forclosing on a tax lien

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

KatrinaK13

What is the name of your state? Arizona.
I have been paying taxes on a piece of property for 4 years. I understand I can start foreclosure procedings after 3 years. How would I go about doing this? Do I need a lawyer, or can I do it myself? Thank you for your help.

Last edited:

dmiller12

I've been paying taxes on my property fro 10 years but I'm not going to start foreclosure proceedings. Is there more to the story?

LindaP777

Why are you paying the property taxes?
Is there some type of mortgage or agreement that allows you to foreclose?
Seriously. Do you think if I just started paying property taxes on my neighbors house, that I could "foreclose" after 4 years?

efflandt

You have time yet, but if you let it slide 10 years from lien purchase without foreclosing, the property goes to the state.

"At any time beginning three years after the sale of a tax lien but not later than ten years after the last day of the month in which the lien was acquired pursuant to section 42-18114, if the lien is not redeemed, the purchaser or the purchaser's heirs or assigns, or the state if it is the assignee, may bring an action to foreclose the right to redeem. The action to foreclose the right to redeem shall be filed in the superior court in the county in which the real property is located. If any applicable law or court order prohibits bringing an action to foreclose the right to redeem, the limitation provided herein shall be extended twelve months following the termination of such prohibition."