• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

High power bills - should the landlord reimburse?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

ncbecks

I've been renting an apartment for the past 6 years. I've always had a roommate but am living alone since January 2000. I've also cancelled my lease effective August 8th. My last 3 power bills have been unreasonable higher than those of the previous years. I hardly used my a/c and have always lived very engery conserving. After the last two power bills (which were $50-75 higher than last years) I was even more careful with power usage. I just now received the latest power bill which was over twice as much ($305) as the one for the same period last year. After calling the power company they adviced me to check the breakers to figure out what is causing the high power usage. Turns out that my waterheater has gone bad and is responsible for the much higher power bills. Do I have any legal rights to ask my landlord to reimburse me for at least the difference between last years and this years power bills?

N

ncbecks

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ncbecks: