• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Housing Association: Interest charges etc.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

healeydave

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

Hi,
I am a UK resident with an investment property in Florida that I use for short term rental.

I recently had a letter from a Law Firm asking for 5 years of backdated HOA fee's along with late fee's and interest charges.
They were threatening to put a lien on the property etc.
This was the first request we have received for HOA fee's for the property!

I spoke to friends of ours who have a property in the same development and they said they get a voucher book sent to their UK address every year with quarterly bills for the HOA fee's. I have never received this or any documentation from the HOA at all, so as you can imagine it came as quite a shock to us.
When asked why we never had anything from the HOA, the lawyer said that they are not obligated to send this information out and that its our responsibility to ensure fee's are paid on time. This I find rather strange because in my opinion even if not a legal requirement, it would be a common courtesy to expect an invoice if only to know who, when & where to pay!

Given a time-line to respond in the first contact letter from the lawyer, I did dispute the bill on the basis that I wanted breakdown of the fee's, especially the interest charges that seem extortionate!