• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Realtor ethics violation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

LocalHero

South Carolina

I know someone who has signed a contract to sell their house for about a third of what it's really worth.
They signed it with a Realtor acting as selling agent and another as buyer agent. I feel strongly that the agents are violating their ethics pledge but I'm also an agent and can't say anything to their client. Is there a legal service they can turn to for help?

Thanks

xylene

You can't say anything to the client, so what happened when you said something to the agent?

LocalHero

You can't say anything to the client, so what happened when you said something to the agent?
All I've said to the agent so far is that it would be a steal at the list price. It's going to be a short sale though it may not need to be if they can get the mortgage co to back off their extra fees ($37,000 worth)

It's listed on the MLS at $75,000 and marked as contingent. I intend to submit a backup contract for myself higher than list price to see where that goes.

justalayman

do you have any real idea why it is priced as it is? There may be a reason.

but why can't you say anything to the client? After all, this is "somebody you know", right?

but even if it wasn't somebody you know, what do you believe stops you from speaking to them about the issue?

Is there a legal service they can turn to for help?
So far you said you can't say anything to the client so how would they become aware of any information you obtain here?

but as to legal services? Sure, grab a phone book and look under attorneys and lawyers.

LocalHero