• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Tracey or Home Guru, Please help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

Home Renter

My roomate and I just moved into a restored Victorian house in PA. The landlord seemed great at first, but now he's intimidating us, and things aren't getting done.

1) He comes into our house after ringing the bell even if we don't answer or aren't home. We only want him there when we're home or by appointment, and he's response was, "I'm not a doctor. I don't make appointments." Today I walked out of my bedroom and he was standing in the hallway.He said he knocked and I didn't answer so he came in. I could have been in the shower or many other things. Can we change the locks without giving him a key or make him get permission to come in? Also, he never changed the locks from when the previous tenants who lived there, and they still have copies of the keys. Does a landlord HAVE to change the locks between tentants?
2) We have two leaks in the roof. He says he's fixing them, but they are just bandaids.One is already leaking again less than a week later. Does a leaky roof constitute legally breaking the lease? And if so, would we get our deposit back?
3) I had to call the gas company because our stove had fumes coming from it. He got mad and said I shouldn't have called them even though I felt unsafe. They red taged the appliance. He also said he'd repair the broken dishwasher and hasn't. How long do we have to wait?
4) Our pilot keeps going out in the furnace and we wake some mornings freezing. I 've had a cold since we moved in. He says he'll get a pilot re-ignitor, but what if this keeps happening?