• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Blocking sidewalk wheelchair access

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Smith2013

What is the name of your state? California

I got a parking ticket that was cited as 22500 (L) Parking unlawfully, blocking sidewalk wheelchair access. I had no idea or even thought it was considered blocking a handicapped acces at all. Im not saying that makes it ok, im just saying I had never heard of that(even when I was 15 and taking my classes the get a permit). I am a college student and can not afford to pay the $349 dollar fine. Is there a way I can get the fine reduced or dropped? Do signs have to be posted or anything like that? Or am I pretty much stuck having to pay the $349 dollar fine for something I have never heard of? Thanks for any help.What is the name of your state?

The Occultist

Ignorance is no excuse of the law.

Your only chance at getting a reduction is talking to whatever body will be holding you accountable for the ticket and see if they will sympathize. I'm fairly certain there will be no dismissal.

CdwJava

I do not know of any parking agency (city of county) that offers reductions for parking cites. It is usually an all or nothing deal. In fact, prior to a hearing on the issue you generally have to pony up the full amount for "bail", and it will be held for payment if you lose your hearing and/or appeal.