• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car Towed From My Own Apt Complex

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ec_85

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

My car was towed from my own apartment complex because it was not displaying the proper guest permit.

I have asked the property manager to make an exception to the parking regulations since I'm a resident and the regulation is meant for non-residents. However, she was not wanting to issue a reimbursement of the towing charge, $315.

Looking into the CA towing laws from private property I believe the towing of my vehicle was in violation of two CVC's. CVC § 22658(m)(3) and CVC § 22658(f). The property manager or employee did not notify the local authorities after authorizing the tow. And the tow company did not contact the local authorities within 30 min from when the vehicle was removed. The tow company contacted the local police around 45 min after. Violating CVC § 22658(m)(3) is an infraction - is the punishment up to $1000? Violating CVC § 22658(f) may require the towing company to owe up to three times the towing charge to the vehicles owner.

My property manager told me that the property owner or employee no longer has to notify the local authorities after the tow authorization has been given. Is this true?

I understand that I was in violation of my apt. complex's parking regulations. However, I don't believe it's right that my complex tows resident vehicles to teach the residents not to park in guest parking (said by the manager). So I am trying to find anything unlawful that the apt complex or towing company may have done so I can get reimbursed for the towing charge.