• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Parking citation - Block Driveway in San Francisco

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dearrrfish

Hi, I am a international student in San Francisco, CA.

I got my first parking citation today in the reason of Blocking Driveway (VC22500E).

I parked my car at the space which is between exits of two garages, I've checked before I left for class there were enough space in front and at back of my car. However, I remembered that I watched back once for the car when I wait for walking through the cross area, I saw a car just trying to park at back of me, which would directly block the driveway. I didn't go back to find another park place as I was hurry for class. Then after 1 hour I found my car was towed.
I paid $385.75 to get my car back from AutoReturn and got a $90 of Parking Citation.

I wonder if I could protest this citation , requesting a review to find if I was fined because another car just park in the space behind mine and when the owner of garage called, they towed both of our cars. Is this my fault? Can I request for some detail description?

Thank you for your help.

CdwJava

If the tow was authorized by a government agency, you have ten days to request a post-storage hearing. They must generally schedule the hearing within 48 hours. At the hearing you can ask for the legal justification to tow the car.

Here is CVC 22500(e):

22500. No person shall stop, park, or leave standing any vehicle
whether attended or unattended, except when necessary to avoid
conflict with other traffic or in compliance with the directions of a
peace officer or official traffic control device, in any of the
following places: