• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Parking at A curb where there is Parking Sign

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bellu

Hi all,
I am a resident of California.
I just got a ticket for parking at a curb last Wednesday. In my parking ticket, it was noted that the violation is parking within 18" of a curb. However, along the curb I was parking there is a sign saying that No parking on Thursday, 12 - 2 pm due to street cleaning. So I thought that we should be able to park there anytime except the given time 12 - 2 pm on Thursday right? I have been seeing people park there all the time and they have never been ticketed. Am I being ticketed by mistake? Can I contest the parking ticket?
Thank you for your kind attention. Any advice from you will be well appreciated.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Your ticket was for parking more than 18" from the curb. That is against the law.

Ozark_Sophist

Within 18" or greater than 18" from the curb? It might be you were parked too far from the curb.

Perhaps work on parallel parking...;)

bellu

The ticket only says 18" from curb.
I am very sure that I parked at the curb (approximately within 6" - 10" from it)
And to think of it, I thought I was lucky to get a space there. The curb is always full with cars.
Anyway, thanks for the replies

Last edited:

AlanShore

Hi all,
I am a resident of California.