• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Parking/Stopping in a bus zone CVC 22500(i) ticket in Oakland

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gabam

First of all, I am an Uber driver and everyone thinks that we are law-breaking morons. In my case, I follow traffic rules like religion. But I am really struggling with picking and dropping people, as I have to stop for that. I really don't know how to handle those situations. Anyways, last night I was waiting for a passenger on Broadway in Oakland, and I was double parked. I didn't want to stop the flow of the traffic(though there wasn't much traffic and they could simply go around me).I saw some space on the ride side and I pulled in there and stopped with my lights blinking. It was dark and raining, and visibility was bad too. The sherrif passed by me, and got out of his car. He asked me for my driving license, proof of insurance, and registration. I gave him everything. He came back with a parking ticket which says "County of Almeda -AC Transit, Parking Violation Notice Code 2017". And the violation is "CVC 22500(i) Parking/Stopping in a bus zone". I was really nervous as I thought I was getting a moving violation ticket of some sort. I have good driving record with no tickets. I was totally stopped(parked) and my seat belt on. I was not moving at all. He told me that I am parked in a bus zone with red painted curb. On asking, the sheriff told me that it is not a moving violation and carries no points.