• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

**Pulled over during test drive**

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PaulAlex

State: IL
Violation: 70.01(B)413-B
"Improper display of plates"
Ordinance Violation Notice
To Registered Owner/Lessee/Driver of vehicle noted below

I have an interesting and unique story that I have not encountered before.
To understand I must give you a little backstory. I am a Car Salesman at a major car retailer. We have dealer plates for our vehicles for test drives. The dealer plates are attached to essentially a rubber quick mounting piece that allows for the rubber piece to be pinched between the trunk so that the plate dangles from rear. Now, some vehicles have power trunk gates. These power trunk gates do not close when there is an object in the way from preventing the trunk to fully close properly. The dealer plate is attached to a rubber mounting piece that is fairly thick Id say around 1/2 inch thickness. Needless to say, the power trunks will not close at all since they detect something in the way (safety feature so your fingers don't get chopped off).