• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question about "no city sticker" ticket in Chicago, IL

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lilgaladriel

This past Friday (July 7) I purchased a brand new Honda Civic from a dealership in Chicago. I drove it off the lot with a temporary license plate. I am a Chicago resident, and was told at the dealership that (1) I did not have to purchase a city sticker until my permanent plates came in and (2) it wouldn't be possible to buy a city sticker until my permanent plates came in. This sounded right to me, but I went to my new car today to find that it had been ticketed on Sunday (the 9th) for not having a city sticker. So I'm wondering if the car dealer was wrong and if I'll have to pay this ticket, or will I be able to sucessfully contest it? I would really appreciate help from anybody with knowledge of the Chicago city sticker law in regards to a brand new car with temporary plates on it. I can't seem to find a clear answer to my question anywhere online. Thanks!

Last edited:

xylene

lilgaladriel said:
(1) I did not have to purchase a city sticker until my permanent plates came in and
False

(2) it wouldn't be possible to buy a city sticker until my permanent plates came in.

True

This sounded right to me,
While what the dealer said that sounded favorable to you, it is not so.

The gap between being able to get the plates and buy the sticker and take delivery of the car is not a loophole that works in your favor, it is an extra expense that screws you over.

lilgaladriel