• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should i please not guilty?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N_80

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I was driving with normal speed when i got a call , I picked my phone only to be stopped by a cop ( I was not aware of the law as I am new to NJ) 0 points but 130$ and yes I please guilty.
I was told to produce the documents, I could my insurance and my DL but could not find my registration, he gave me 0 points but 180$ for not producing documents, I tried to show him the one in my phone(soft copy) but he was not convinced, what should i do ,pay up or plead not guilty ?

You Are Guilty

Assuming you actually had valid paperwork, but just not with you at the time you were pulled over, bring them all to your court date and explain to the judge what you've explained here, then show them the proof. They will usually dismiss the ticket outright (or at least cut the fine by a lot).

Or, if you light your cigars with $100 bills, feel free to plead guilty too.

N_80

Assuming you actually had valid paperwork, but just not with you at the time you were pulled over, bring them all to your court date and explain to the judge what you've explained here, then show them the proof. They will usually dismiss the ticket outright (or at least cut the fine by a lot).

Or, if you light your cigars with $100 bills, feel free to plead guilty too.