• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Which state law does my vehicle fall under?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

delsol

Hello everyone! I am currently in the military and I am stationed in California. On the other hand I am a Florida resident with a current address in Florida and my drivers license and my vehicles are registered in Florida. I was wondering since the emmissions laws and other traffic laws (window tint, etc) are radically different which state laws would my vehicles be required to comply with? California is a beautiful place but the laws out here are ridiculous.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Hello everyone! I am currently in the military and I am stationed in California. On the other hand I am a Florida resident with a current address in Florida and my drivers license and my vehicles are registered in Florida. I was wondering since the emmissions laws and other traffic laws (window tint, etc) are radically different which state laws would my vehicles be required to comply with? California is a beautiful place but the laws out here are ridiculous.
Emissions would fall under Florida law since you are not required to register your vehicle in this state. Florida and California law aren't very much different in regards to tint (they are different, just not hugely different.) In fact, in some instances, Florida law is MORE restrictive.

delsol