• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ticket For Expired Tags In different State

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Rhita

Virginia
Hi I am a Virginia resident. I traveled to DC not knowing my tags expired by a month. Of course got a ticket. My question is: Is the ticket disputable since the car is registered in Virginia and not DC?

justalayman

Rhita said:
Virginia
Hi I am a Virginia resident. I traveled to DC not knowing my tags expired by a month. Of course got a ticket. My question is: Is the ticket disputable since the car is registered in Virginia and not DC?
Do you have a magic registration that somehow becomes valid in DC when driving there. The fact is DC requires cars to be licensed/registered. They allow vehicles licensd/registered in other states as acceptable to fulfill their requirements. You had neither a DC registration nor a valid registration from another state. You see, actually you car was not registered in Virginia either at the time. So the only thing you have is a VIrginia title and no registration.

Bottom line: NO

BelizeBreeze

Rhita said:
Virginia
No****************************

gawm

However, if you get proper registration before your court date the judge may reduce the fine.

efflandt

Why do people think what gawm thinks? Maybe if you have registration renewal dated "before" the violation and just forgot to put the sticker on. But why should anyone accept registration dated "after" the violation (which would make such a citation pointless)?

Likewise if proof of insurance is required. If you do have insurance and just not the card on you, they usually drop it. But why would anyone accept proof of insurance dated "after" a violation?