• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ticketed for unlicensed operator- plead guilty or not?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mago0o

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

This past Saturday I was pulled over for speeding. The officer was nice enough to let me off on the speeding infraction but ticketed me for being an unlicensed operator. My driver's license expired 3 weeks ago. Clearly my fault and I fully admit negligence by not renewing it in time. I went down to the DMV yesterday (1st day the DMV was open since the ticket) and made good on the DL so I am a legal driver again. Should I just plead guilty and take what the court gives me or should I go with a not guilty plea and see if they can take it easy on me? This is my 1st offence- never had a speeding ticket or other infraction. Not bad for an 18 year driving record. Any advice on what I should do?

Thanks in advance!

HighwayMan

Super Secret Senior Member
I think you are foolish to even ask such a question.

Be advised that the officer has ONE YEAR to file charges against you. If you show up in court, after being given a huge gift to begin with, to try to fight a legitimate charge the officer could decide to issue you a ticket for the speeding right there, along with anything else you did that he failed to mention at the time of the stop.

Or if he mentions it during his testimony you may not only be found guilty but I can see a judge imposing the maximum fine - close to $400 all together.

You had no valid license when you got stopped. Period. Renewing it later means nothing - this is not a "fix it ticket". And your supposed 18 year stellar driving record means nothing in court.