• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Transferring Ticket to Another Person

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kentercanyon

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I have never received a citation nor been involved with the courts, so please excuse my ignorance.

Now, here is the backstory -- I'm an undergraduate, and live in a rented house with three other students. Last weekends, one of my roommates decided she wanted to have a party at our house. We all agreed, as long as she kept it under control. Flash forward to the actual party, and it was anything but under control. And the cops show up.

I decide to be the one to talk with the officer, since my other roommates are pretty drunk and in no state to communicate with him. The cop asks me to kick some people out and turn down the music, and says if he has to come back he'll arrest me. He seemed to be in a pretty bad mood, but whatever. I start asking people to leave, but within 5-minutes he's back and asking to talk to me. He started going on about how I ignored him. I asked him if I could get my roommates to talk with him, but he said he didn't want to. He then wrote me an "Unnecessary Noise Party" Ticket. I have to appear in court dec. 5.