• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is the university assuming parking funds to my account illegally?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

arsenalwins24

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Massachusetts

Good afternoon, I am a student at Boston College and 'I' received 2 on-campus parking violations in November of 2015. In April of 2015, I registered the vehicle for a temporary, three-day parking permit for on-campus parking, so my name, for those three days, was linked to the vehicle. Since April of 2015, however, the vehicle was in no way bound to me as far as the university is concerned. As far as they're concerned, the only time the vehicle was registered to me on campus was for those 3 days with the temporary permit. I say that because I have no legal affiliation to that vehicle - it is not registered legally to my name or anything. I just had it for those 3 days on campus. Now, come November 2015, 2 parking tickets are added to my student account, despite the vehicle not being mine, or legally registered to me. I kindly asked Transportation to give the tickets to the registered owner of the vehicle, since, as far as I am aware, that is their legal obligation. When one gets a parking ticket, it is the legal owner of the vehicle that is responsible. The University has assumed with no evidence whatsoever and based on a three-day permit assigned to me that I committed the violation. The University has refused to send it to the registered vehicle owner. I received the following response from them: 'The vehicle is registered to you with a BC parking sticker you are responsible for this vehicle while it is on BC's campus.' He failed to mention it was only regi