• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I Clone the X-Bow?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ManiacalCoyote

What is the name of your state? California

I am a member of the Nerf Internet Community (I am a Nerf hobbyist, one of many), and I have a couple questions about reproducing a toy made in 1995.

I think the patent has expired, but I can't be certain because I haven't been able to find a copy of it.

The blaster in question is the Nerf Action Crossbow made by Kenner.

I want to cast copies of the shells (exterior component) out of resin, rather than the injection-molded plastic they were originally made in.
(I would also make a few other changes to the inside of the shell.)

My first question is: Am I allowed to make these variants?

Second: Am I allowed to sell these variants? (On a small scale, I could never afford to make these on the same scale that they were originally manufactured on.)

Third: Should I label it as "Derived from Kenner Nerf Crossbow"? Is there a different way I should give credit to the original design?

I don't want to get into trouble with Hasbro's attack lawyers, so please help me out.

Last edited:

Silverplum

I am a member of the Nerf Internet Community (I am a Nerf hobbyist, one of many), and I have a couple questions about reproducing a toy made in 1995.

I think the patent has expired, but I can't be certain because I haven't been able to find a copy of it.

I want to cast copies of the shells (exterior component) out of resin, rather than the injection-molded plastic they were originally made in.