• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

estate distribution dilemma - family frozen out

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

seeeker

Hi,
My uncle died in late 2005 in Rhode Island. He was a very successful artist and director. He painted and sold maritime paintings for thousands of $$$. In 1961 he won an Oscar for a film he wrote and directed. I am also an illustrator, and have inherited his genes as a flaky, emotional artist.

In 1991 he was married until a divorce in the late 90's. Because he was notoriously unorganized with is finances and lifestyle, he had nowhere to go; thus he remained in residence with his estranged ex-wife from roughly 1998 until his death.

He wrote a will in 1992 that gave her virtually everything. My brother and I each got 1%. We got none of his artwork, effects, nothing, not even the Oscar. I have no idea on earth how he wrote such a will, other than he was careless about his affairs.

I have written two very sincere letters to his ex-wife the situation from our perspective, explaining my relationship to him, how much he meant to me, how it is very difficult to accept as we are his biological family. And we would appreciate if she could part with a few things, especially the Oscar. It is very important that something remains in his biological family that we can celebrate and share with our children/grandchildren. As of now I have nothing, she has everything.

I got no real replies to the letters, only a brief statment from her attorney offering to effectively sell me a painting for my 1%. That's harsh.