• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

paying debt to an estate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TJKING4

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

Are you required to pay money you owe to an estate before you can collect money from said estate? Or can you get money when it is divided and then repay your debt when you want to?

HomeGuru

Are you required to pay money you owe to an estate before you can collect money from said estate? Or can you get money when it is divided and then repay your debt when you want to?
**A: I would go with the first option. And you really have not provided us much to go on. Are we supposed to read your mind?

TJKING4

sorry, I am new to this. I know mind reading is expensive and since this is a free forum I do not expect it.

I am the executor of my dad's will. I have 3 siblings. Two owe a good deal of money to daddy. Daddy always said whoever owed him money had to pay his estate. The debt did not die with him. The siblings want their share of the estate and then they will pay their debt back as they are able. I feel that their debt should be paid first and then they will get something if there is anything to left.

**A: I would go with the first option. And you really have not provided us much to go on. Are we supposed to read your mind?

TJKING4