• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Felony sex conviction ten years later...reducing charge? expungement????? Help!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

shanethomas67

What is the name of your state? Virginia

A felony conviction of indecent liberties with a minor ten years after is ruining my life. I would like to know if there any options available in Virginia of maybe reducing the charge to get off the sex offender registry....or expungement?....or something...This is ruining my life and feel I was wrongly put on the registry in the first place...I was put on the list because I was a teacher at the time. Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

goodgrief

There is nothing you can do. You are a registered sex offender for life. I'd say you were not only put on it because you were a teacher, but because you had "indecent liberties" with a child.

Just Blue

shanethomas67 said:

A felony conviction of indecent liberties with a minor ten years after is ruining my life. I would like to know if there any options available in Virginia of maybe reducing the charge to get off the sex offender registry....or expungement?....or something...This is ruining my life and feel I was wrongly put on the registry in the first place...I was put on the list because I was a teacher at the time. Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!
How would they reducing the charge from 10 years ago?

You had "indecent liberties with a minor...what was she 15 ...16...were you her teacher?? They have the list so that others can be warned....God forbid you got another job teaching and molested another "child"...