• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

wrongful withholing of academic records

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

eccodomani

I'm located in California.

The university I graduated from a few years ago is now withholding my academic records, because of an unpaid student loan.

The thing is, I never applied for a loan and have disputed the reported balance with the credit reporting agency and university.
Credit Reporting Agency fixed it, university hasn't and keeps making demands - violating my rights under FCRA and/or FDCA.
Will take care of that :)

But, what law does the wrongful withholding of academic records violate. What damages can I seek?

E

eccodomani

Hhmmm, interesting response. Jumping to quite a few conclusions, aren't we?

1. I'm sucessfully self-employed, so no need to find a job.
2. I have a life.
3. I have right to get my transcripts, but can't. Whether I need them or not.

The university refuses to release transcripts to students who they believe owe the university money. I DON"T OWE THEM MONEY. I NEVER APPLIED FOR A LOAN. The university was informed of this error in writing and through a Credit Report Agency investigation. The university has failed to make the necessary corrections to its records & keeps demanding money that I do NOT owe. This is willful non-compliance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act. The university is liable for that.

All I wanted to know is what liability exists for wrongfully withholding my transcripts.

I guess hoping for a worthwhile response was to much.
:(

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

My response:

Okay, they say you owe money.

Have they told you what the money is owed for; e.g., classes, supplies, damaged items, etc. ?