• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Out of State DWI

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

Littlelady31

What is the name of your state? New Jersey. Help To All who can give me some advice here:

Well i am a NJ resident and I was in the state of New York at a friends birthday party. Well at 12 am i left the party and was headed home. I was ok to drive i knew what i was doing and had no problem. Well while i was driving i got lost I was not fimiliar with the area so i was trying to find my way back to NJ and I went onto a ramp that I thought was going back to Jersey and it was going more in NY so i panicked and was crying and upset cause i was lost and in a unfimiliar place. So while still heading up the ramp i had a tire blow out and lost control of my truck which hit a median and knocked down a sign. So was stranded since my tire blew out. So it was 1 am in the morning and it was cold so i still had the truck running and was on my cell with my folks so they could give me there AAA card so i could get towed. Well about 30 minutes later the police drove up and came to me asking if i was ok and what had happened. i explained to them i was lost and not fimiliar with this area. They asked what I was doing up in this area I explained to them i was at a birthday , they next said that smelled alcohol, so they told me that they wanted me to perform sobriety tests which i told them since i am disabled i cannot do physical things that affects my balance, but they told me to do them anyway. So they told me to say the Alphabet backwards as well as touch finger to nose and then walk a straight line . Well the alaphabet i did ,but the other 2 required physical movments which i cannot