• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

breach of contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

I

iron_mole

What is the name of your state? What is the name of your state? Pennsylvania

I'm an illustrator and I did a piece for a giant software company (their US office is in CA) and a few months after I delivered the art I inquired about why I did not receive payment yet and basically the guy I delt with at the company said he witheld the invoice and wasn't going to pay because it was late and they couldn't use it...even though he asked me to send them the art. Anyway after discussing the payment, he sent an e-mail saying yes they did agree to pay me $3000. but would I take $1000? (I refused any lesser amount)

I have a lot of e-mails comfirming the company making an offer, me quoting a price, and them accepting. I did a piece for them the previous month and had no problems. Basically it looks like the art director mis-managed the situation and he's just hoping I fade out.

Well, I discussed the situation with a volunteer arts lawyer during a free consultation and she recommended small-claims court, but after the stuff I read on this board I have doubts they'll ever turn up in court here in PA. Does anyone have any advice or info?

JETX

"Does anyone have any advice or info?"

1) Anytime you are doing work for someone, especially interstate, make sure you have a written agreement signed by the buyer.
2) And when doing interstate work, be sure to specify the jurisdiction in the event of dispute (naturally, you want it to be in YOUR home court).

As for your specific problem.... your options are: