• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

got sued by ex-roomate for rent

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mfever

Florida

I'm a 3rd year college student. June 28 last year, I co-signed with my ex-roommate for an apartment for 12 months, receiving the first month rent free.

When I moved in, he had taken the master bedroom and one other bedroom as his "office" in our 3 bedroom apartment without consulting with me, while still expecting me to pay for 1/2 of rent. That night he set thermos to 73 degrees (in summer time florida), and had people over at 1am, making lots of noise.

The next day I moved all my stuff out, and left him and apartment manager with notes saying that I'm moving out, leaving the deposit, and call me to work out the situation.

My ex-roommate called, my parents answered, but under a barrage of threat of court by him, negotiations ended quickly.

He called again, and I answered, telling him that I know someone who wanted to rent an apartment, he replied no thanks, and he's got someone else.

Now more than a year had passed, and the lease expired. Him, not the apartment is taking me to court requesting that I pay $2960 which is 1/2 of 6 month of rent plus transfer fees after he moved to a smoker's apartment mid-lease in the same complex, due to the "financial strain of the situation."

The $2960 + 100 filing fees sound pretty unfair considering the fact that the first month was free and one or two roommates could've been found in matter of days because the place is only a few miles away from a major university.