• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can they fire me?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

W

wwpowell

I was hurt in a car accident on 12/28/99. It was a back injury (neck and jaw too, but they are healed) A week later my job requested a letter of clarification of my Doctors Rx for "light duty PM private duty car" (I'm a nurse), so I wrote a letter stating that the job I do (watching an old guy sleep) is not going to hurt my back or aggravate it. I've worked doing this since then. Last week there was a sign posted that nights are now to do AM care which involves alot of bending over, and I tried it once, went home crying in pain. Now I get the impression that this may come down as being a directive that this care is to be done by the night shift which means I can't do it. If I refuse with the reasoning that I'm still on light duty, can they fire me? And if they do should I add that to the lawsuit going on with the car accident? Isn't this discrimination? Especially since they've already let me stay there for almost four months?

L

Law_Dude