• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Exempt Employee Status

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

G

Good Fellow

What is the name of your state? Georgia.

My situation hinges on the definition of an exempt employee. My employer considers my position as exempt, but I'm nopt so sure.

Here's the scoop (I'll try to be brief).

I am a professional that works in the service industry. I have historically been compensated for billable hours worked in excess of 45 per week (non-billable hours do not count and we are not reimbersed for those regardless of how many).

The company has changed the policy. Now, if we work more than 45 billable hours we are instructed to take compensatory time off. (We are payed monthly, they actually tell us to take the time off in the month after the month in which the extra time was worked.) Other potential factors include; I do turn in a timesheet each week that illustrates the activities that I've been involved with, billable and nonbillable, and have in the past been told to take a vacation day whenever a personal need (medical)conflicts with business.

Where do I stand ?? Exempt or nonexempt?? (I believe my employers practice is legal if I am truly an exempt employee but with the precident I'm not so sure.)

Thanks.

Beth3

Only an examination of your job duties and scope of responsibilities will dictate whether your job is appropriately classified as exempt and you haven't provided nearly enough information in your post to answer that question.