• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

non-compete Texas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

contractor_tx

What is the name of your state? Texas

I am an IT consultant in Texas. I work as an employee of a contracting company. This firm recently burned me by telling me last Tuesday night that it had arranged for me to work at a large Dallas employer for a rate that we had agreed upon. Then two days later they called me back and told me that we were going to have to walk away from the deal. In the meantime (Wednesday) I had given two weeks notice to the client I work for. The client I work for does not care to do business with this firm and would hire me directly, but I have the following clauses in my contract:

My agreement says that the term is from October 25, 2001 through January 31, 2002 and then automatically continues month-to-month until terminated by you, Client, company or conversion to a full time employee of Client.

Also, the Enagement Agreement clause reads as such:

For a period of one year after the termination of this agreement, if employee directly or indirectly engages in any business that competes with (Company) at this client, Employee agrees to pay (Company) thirty (30%) of the gross billing amount and/or placement fees charged to client. This covenant shall apply to the Client and any of its subsidiaries. Employee agrees that this non-compete provision will not adversely affect the livelihood of the Employee.