• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Former employer refusing to pay up

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I

Iamupset

What is the name of your state? Illinois
I was recently employed as an account executive for a local manufacturing company. My compensation structure was a draw against commissions. The person I was reporting to made a habit of calling me "Inexperienced" in front of peers, and in one on one conversations. I have 12 years of experience in the industry but, at the time had minimum experience in a sales capacity. I was also lied to in regards to a potential client, was given an existing account list with either names, addresses, or phone numbers missing, estimates on my projects took at times, 3 to 4 days to complete resulting in loss of business.

After approx 4 months on the job, I felt that I could not succeed under the conditions at that company. I quickly accepted an offer with another company and resigned without notice. My employment was "At will". The former employer has been refusing to pay me for the two week period prior to my resignation. Claiming that I have left the company in a position of liabilty, and also stating that my resignation was "Unprofessional". The company even went as far as making the direct deposit into my bank account on the date that I was to be paid. They then went into my account later that day and reversed the deposit without my authorization. This could have put me in serious financial problems. If I did not check my account online 3 or 4 times that day, I would have just proceeded to cut checks for billls, assuming the money was there.