• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

wrongful termination, defamation of character, slander and libel?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

joe shmoe

What is the name of your state? California

While working as a law enforcement officer, my partner and I were dispatched to an auto accident. After arriving at the scene of the collision, it was determined that one of the parties was operating his vehicle under the influence of an alcoholic beverage. I subsequently arrested him for the specific vehicle code section. Prior to his arrest, the subject submitted to two field sobriety tests, one of which was the Preliminary Alcohol Screening test (PAS). The PAS test is not an implied consent test, which means it can be refused. It is a test where the breath of a subject is analyzed to determine the presence of alcohol not ascertain its concentration. The subject was then transported to the local jailing facility for further chemical testing, which the subject refused. On a field note, I documented the subject’s refusal to the testing. The actual arrest report was not completed for nearly three days following the incident. To complete the report I referred to my field notes that stated “refusal” and documented inaccurately a PAS refusal. The reports were complete with incriminating facts against the subject.