• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

extended leave of absence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

patou

What is the name of your state? florida
Took medical leave of absence for broken bone in foot which required surgery. 12 weeks passed but my surgeon is not allowing me to go back to work for at least another 2 months and prescribed therapy ( i have scare tissues and loss of sensations in toes as well as no flexibility in big toe). I am a massage therapist and need to stand and push on my foot all day to do my job. The hotel i worked for has informed me i will have to RESIGN and reapply for a job when i am able to work. Is this legal? I have received short term disability and i am in the process of applying for long term to cover the next 2 months but i do not want to lose my job. Do i have any options? Please help!!!

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Yes, this is legal. The Family Medical Leave Act guarantees you job protection for 12 weeks, but you've had that. A broken foot does not qualify under the ADA, so you have no additional protection there. As long as you have been granted the 12 weeks leave, if you are still unable to return to work it is legal for them to request your resignation. It is also legal for them to fire you.

P

patou

thanks for your answer. In which case would the ADA proctect me? I did not have a broken foot but surgery to remove a fractured bone in the foot which is leaving partially disabled at this point as i am unable to stand for long period of time, i have a loss of sensations in my toes and pain. I am a massage therapist and i need to stand and push on my feet all day. Thanks again for your input

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl