• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help with 2 documents received in mail

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

tryingtomoveon

What is the name of your state? MT

I received two documents in the mail from X's lawyer and not sure what to do about them. One is a "Motion for Order to Show Cause and Motion for Attorney's Fees" and the other is an "Affidavit in Support of [Motions]". As far as I can tell these have not been filed in court. What am I supposed to do? I cannot afford a lawyer. I'm a full-time University student trying to keep a roof over me and my daughter's head. Is there some sort of legal aid I can get if I need to get a lawyer?

stephenk

Does your college have a student legal aid department? You can also go to a bookstore and purchase family law self-help books by Nolo Press.

H

hmmbrdzz

You can call the court house, give the case number to the clerk of court, and ask her if these motions have been filed yet, if they've been decided upon yet, are these your copies, etc. These definitions of "Notice of Motion", and "Order to Show Cause" might help you some. Best thing to do -- call the courthouse.
Good luck. I doubt you'll qualify for legal aid in a divorce proceeding, but you can call an attorney's office, and they will give you a free consultation. When you call the court, you may find out that everything has been handled if one or the other party has not contested.

==============================================
FILE COPY:

Notice of Motion