• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1983 Action

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

stipulation

California
Recently I had a search warrant served on me by a police Dept. The warrant was not endorsed for night service and there was nothing to support night service in the affadavit. The warrant was served shortly after midnight.
I am a Police Officer and the department wrote the warrant under the guise of investigating an alleged crime. I have not committed any crime and nothing is pending or has anything been filed against me. The department violated my Peace Officer rights (POBOR) under several sections and the warrant was thrown out in Superior Court along with several other parts of the investigation. I am adequately represented for the administrative actions that the Dept. is taking against me.
Now, do I have a slam dunk 1983 action against the city and each of the individual officers?. The Judge summed up in his decision that the department violated my rights and that one of the detectives lied in his declarations to the court. Obviously I am not happy with my Department and would love to follow all possible claims against them...

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

stipulation said:
California
Recently I had a search warrant served on me by a police Dept. The warrant was not endorsed for night service and there was nothing to support night service in the affadavit. The warrant was served shortly after midnight.