• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Criminal background checks by employers?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

lynnharp

What is the name of your state? TX

I have a pending POCS 4th degree charge with no indictment. When a potential employer does a criminal background check on me will this pending charge show?

(I don't know if you will know this)
Also, CPS got in the picture over this and have charged me with Neglect. They are not going to press the charges if I comply with their list of requirements. Will this child neglect charge show on a criminal background check?

Thank you,

Becky

H

hmmbrdzz

lynnharp said:
What is the name of your state? TX

I have a pending POCS 4th degree charge with no indictment. When a potential employer does a criminal background check on me will this pending charge show?

(I don't know if you will know this)
Also, CPS got in the picture over this and have charged me with Neglect. They are not going to press the charges if I comply with their list of requirements. Will this child neglect charge show on a criminal background check?

Thank you,

Becky

My response: I'm not sure how that works on the "criminal background check" (technically), but the potential employer can find out this information through other background checks.
Such as -- if your old boss knew you were arrested for possession of CS and that CPS was involved, this info could be given to your new potential boss from your old boss.

If you have filled out a job application after these charges and put "no" to the conviction part, you aren't necessarily lying on the application, but there are ways an employer finds out about your conduct.