• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Underage Drinking - State Park

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Shamanix

New Jersey

Me and 3 of my friends were caught by a park ranger with 5 beers down by a cedar creek that just happened to be a State Park as well. Me being the only one over 18 was the only one ticketed. I have one for underage drinking and one that just says 'Conduct'. What does the conduct one mean?

I have a court date for both at the same time, what should I expect, just a fine? It is my first offense and we did only have 5 beers with us, plus I am a college student with a job, so that might help me out. Does NJ have a mandatory minumum for this?

I didn't even have a car down there, so it was not like I planned to drink and drive.

Last edited:

HomeGuru

Shamanix said:
New Jersey

Me and 3 of my friends were caught by a park ranger with 5 beers down by a cedar creek that just happened to be a State Park as well.

**A: don't you know that NJ law does not allow drinking in state parks?
Me being the only one over 18 was the only one ticketed. I have one for underage drinking and one that just says 'Conduct'. What does the conduct one mean?

**A: what do you think it means?
And to top it off, you are not even the legal drinking age.

I have a court date for both at the same time, what should I expect, just a fine? It is my first offense and we did only have 5 beers with us,

**A: oh, you have a good point. Yes, because if you had 6 beers (which 5 is the maximum limit for an underage person to have in a NJ state park), you would have been arrested and kept in jail.

plus I am a college student with a job, so that might help me out.