• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

hospital adoptions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mlpa

What is the name of your state? ms
i am a social worker at a major hospital in ms. recently i was asked to assist in paperwork for an adoption-the patient came through the er in labor and was moved up to the floor. she told the doctor that she wanted to put the baby up for adoption. a nurse entered the room and stated that she wanted the patients baby. i was asked to assist with paperwork-the situation made me very uncomfortable and i questioned the legal aspects. i was told that this is legal and i was written up for refusing to assist with the paperwork. i refused for reasons involving legal and professional ethics.
the 2 parties had never met-no attorney had been contacted-my question is-can a hospital employee ask a patient for the child they want to put up for adoption?

nextwife

Well, I'm an international adoptor, and we went through significant scrutiny prior to being allowed to adopt. Actually, all parties in our household id, which is not necessary for bioparents. Personally, I'd like to see ALL parents look themslelves over so thouroughly and really think about whether they are financially, emotionally and otherwise competent to properly parent a child before they embarked on such a journey, but that's another issue.