• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

False Charges

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

W

williemay

What is the name of your state? WA. I am in the process of getting a divorce and my wife has brought false charges against me, saying I forged her name off of a title. The vehicle in question is a LEASED vehicle, it is a semi truck, as I am a truck driver. My father loaned me the money to pay off the lease, when the lease was up. To be assured that I would repay him, he asked at the licensing department if there was anything he could do and they told him he could put his name on title as legal owner and I would be a registered owner. My father asked about my wifes name being on the title and they told him since it was a leased vehicle that she would not be required to sign off of it. Now she has charged me with forging her name and has a court date of this Friday. I can't find an attorney, as I live in a small town and no one will take it on at such short notice. What can I do when I go into court or is there something else I can do? I there any RCW laws against her having her attorney bringing up these kind of false charges? It has already been established in court that this vehicle is a lease vehicles.

Last edited:

racer72