• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help please

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

Clay_Trainor

CALIFORNIA BABY!!

Hi, sorry, but i've had this kid bugging me for sometime and pushing me around, and i was wondering if it's legal if i just punch him in the face, and fight him. Is it possible to get charged?
if he told me to punch him, and I did, and then he fights back.

Thanks

Clay

P

plumuniq

I'm no lawyer, but I have a son who was abused by his step-dad
often.
Let me say this:
if this "kid" is under 18, then "YES" you can be charged for child abuse. If he's over 18, you can be charged for assault. It may
be your word against his without witnesses, in the case of
assault (if he's over 18), and you're claiming self defense.

There is NO EXCUSE for child abuse. Period.
NO, you CAN'T punch him in the face. He's pushing your buttons-getting your attention for a reason. He may be trying to reach out
for your affection, and knows no other way.

There are agencies you can go to that deal with problems in the family...if he has a neurological disorder such as ADHD, or
bipolar, then he needs to be diagnosed, through one of these
agencies and on meds. Punching and abusing will only make it worse, and he WILL NOT respond to it. He will not stop the
underlying behaviors causing the problems.
You might want to get some counseling your own self as to how to how to deal with this family crisis. There are crisis lines if things get out of hand. DO NOT CROSS THAT LINE. IT will only screw things up.
It could be he want you to strike so that he can call the police on
you also. You'd better think about that.

C

Clay_Trainor