• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Lots of Questions, TN. divorce

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

SouthernGal

What is the name of your state? PA

I'm a resident of PA who was divorced in TN. in August of this year. In my divorce agreement, it states that my ex is to make a payment every month to me that is to go towards our marital debt... in the marital dissoultion agreement the marital debt is not specified as to what it is for, it's just labeled Marital debt. I will quote what is written in the Dissoultuion agreement for 'INDEBTNESS' .... "INDEBTNESS. That husband shall pay wife $xx,xxx.xx as payment towards marital debt. Husband shall make the first monthly payment in the amount of $xxx.xx the week of June 6, 2003 and shall coninute until Jan. 6, 2008. Otherwise, both parties agree herein to assume any and all indebtness or financial obligations listed seperately in their respective names, not otherwise listed herein, and to pay same in such manner so as not to interfere with the credit standing of the other party. Both parties agree to assume the the respecitve obligations set forth herein, and to indemnify the other party and hold them harmless from said obligations. Husband and wife agree not to contract any obligations in th name of the other party after the execution of this agreement." It does not state anything further about what the marital debt is for, nor does the agreement state who is responisble for paying the joint credit cards, even tho since we've split I have made wrote the checks for them. Ex husband has not made a payment to me to put towards the marital debt in 3 months. I asked before on this message board about filing contempt of court,