• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How Long Does It Take For A Step-parent To Adopt

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

monnickasmommy

What is the name of your state? AZ

Due to the lack of visitation my ex wife is allowing- that I have won and the fighting I had/have been doing over the last 4 years , I have decided to VOLENTARY sign off my parental rights with my 10 year old daughter , she has seen me 2x in person over the last 9 years- MOM left me . I was in the Military, she went back to her home country. I have been paing child support FAITHFULLY, I set it up- for the last 5 1/2 years @ 200.00 a month-250.00 a month at times. (court order)

The stepfather wanted to adopt her always has but never forced it unless I decided to give a written permission to do it- I did a 8 weeks ago-

My ex wife did not have a chance to speek to me on the phone since I told her that it was all her fault and SHE AGREED IT WAS because she did not want the daughter to leave her state - that is why she kept on moving because the court order gave "special states " where visitation can be issued.
He husband agreed to apopt my daughter.

My wife got a phone call today and she my ex wife sayed that she talked to her attorney and the paper work is still be drafted
( I told her if she slandered me/ put me down in any way or shape I will refuse to sign the papers until they are the TRUTH and correct.)

She also stated that they can not do nothing until the next year because all the courts are full. Would not give a date of filing.

The questions I have is :
1. If/when the adoption takes place can or does the socical security number change ?