• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

ex finacee says he'll sue!

• Thread starter greeneyedartist
  • Start date

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

G

greeneyedartist

What is the name of your state? MI

After I broke it off with my fiancee, he has threatened to sue me in small claims court. He lives in IN, and says that he is filing in MI. He gave me a credit card to use at my discretion when we were together and told me to buy what I needed for myself and two daughters for school. I purchased approx. $500 in clothes for my job (I'm a teacher) and some winter coats and clothing my my children. When I broke up with him, I immediately gave him the card. I also returned the $5000 diamond engagement ring that he had given me. Weeks before our break up, he was staying with my daughters (they considered him to be their step dad already, although he didn't live with us) while I attended a conference (for work) 5 hours from home. I had driven the school's vehicle and left my car with him. He totaled my car and a police report was filed- he was fined and found at fault. The officer thought he was drunk (by his actions) and gave him a breathalizer. He bragged to my daughters and a co-worker of mine that he wasn't drunk...it was the first thing that he said. At the insistance of my daughters, he called me that night to tell me what had happened. He sounded drunk...my daughters believed him to be as well. When I returned, he took me to get a rental car. He agreed to pay the deductible plus an add'l $300. He also told me that I didn't owe him anything for the car that he had just crashed. I agreed. He had bought the car for me (at that time) 14 months prior for $4600. He told me aft