• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help! Court Monday

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

killahair

What is the name of your state? MI
Please Help - I have to go to court monday because I sold a Boat "AS IS" on the reciept - it was a used 12 yr old boat - with a replaced engine year before - buyer bought boat and blew engine 5 weeks after purchase - says engine had a falty dipstick?never heard of that one - worked excellent for me - anyhow believe they(buyer) is going to say I misrepresented boat when selling it as he initially said I installed a falty dipstick - I am NOT a mechanic of anysort - I enclosed receipts on engine installation from year before but the guy who installed engine business went broke or under so that leaves just me on my own - Please give me some advice ASAP. Thanks.

racer72

A faulty dipstick? This guy must think you are a dipstick. All a dipstick is used for is to check the oil level on an engine. It has nothing to do with the operation of the engine. Just tell the judge the truth and watch this guy get laughed out of court.

Seanscott

You sold it "as is", meaning no guarantees. He can't come back now and expect you to pay for repairs or refund his money.

K

killahair

Well thats what he is saying - the faulty dipstick read full oil and there was none so engine failed.He is saying I installed faulty dipstick knowingly? I dunno what to say to that one.He just wants his money.We'll see tomorrow - If you have anymoe advive please help as Ive never been to court nor do I have a lawyer cause its small claims - Thank you all

Seanscott