• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

RE: Paying For college

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

DAK

My Child Support will be terminated as my last son will be 21. Never in our divorce agreement did my ex ever ask for me to pay for college not even now,
She thinks I have to pay until my son is out of college, does she have a leg to stand on.
Support Collection says that is will definitley terminate as of a certain date.
This is in NY... I am told by the scu that it is 21 and she can not get money for college now, is this true.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.
HERE YOU GO:

IN NEW YORK: Family Court Chapter,Article 13 Section 240
(2) "Child support" shall mean a sum to be paid pursuant to court
order or decree by either or both parents or pursuant to a valid agree-
ment between the parties for care, maintenance and education of any
unemancipated child under the age of twenty-one years

FROM FREEADVICE.COM HOMEPAGE FAMILY LAW CHILD SUPPORT SECTION
WHEN CAN A CHILD SUPPORT ORDER BE CHANGED OR MODIFIED?