• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Taken for a ride on eBay -- advice?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mixologist03

Hi there.. I reside in the state of Missouri, and the fraud in question took place in California.

I purchased an item on eBay last September. I paid promptly via a USPS money order, sent certified/tracked to a person in California. I have this person's full contact info and have spoken on the phone with her many times about this issue before never hearing from her again.

Let me preface all this with that I've been trading on eBay since 1998, so I'm very well aware of the risks and how to avoid the simple and easy fraud activities. I checked out everything in regards to this auction -- honest communication was had at first, traceable information was provided, good feedback was on the account, and everything checked out.

I purchased this item and paid as requested. A money order, while not my preferred method of payment, was politely requested. I abliged due to the honesty the seller showed me (and due to their record on eBay, apparently).