• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

police informing employer...legal?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

delo9999

What is the name of your state? NJ
i was stopped by the local police, questioned about dumping trash illegally, then let go by the police with no further contact. Now i find the police called my employer to check if i work there,and explained the stop to him. i work in a school, and this could effect my employment (tenure). Do the police have the right to inform my employer of the details of a stop that resulted in no charges whatsoever?

D

delo9999

ok, ok, i get the idea
it just didn't seem right to me, since they had dropped the charge, and are not pursuing it any further. i think they just called my boss to get me into trouble with work.

Bravo8

I'm sure that's exactly what they did....not having anything else to do and all. :rolleyes:

I routinely call a person's employer after having contact with them in an attempt to "get them in trouble".

Sometimes I call their mommy and daddy too......

C

ChoixDuJour

I just had to comment on this one...

delo9999, here's the deal.