• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help- can I use this for my business venture?????

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pprnmba

What is the name of your state? New York

Hello- I am a nurse and I am beginning a home business of making "supportive" jewelry. By this I mean, using a pink ribbon (breast cancer awareness) as one of the items on a bracelet fur survivors of cancer...............since this pink ribbon is universally used as the sign for breast cancer awareness do I have to get someone's permission to use it in the creation of my jewelry? What if I buy some charm links that have little pink hearts on them to use as well- are these things somehow protected so that if I use them I can not call the jewelry I created mine? Is there any sort of protection I can get legally to protect my ideas about such "alternative" types of Jewelry? Can anyone suggest where I might learn more about this type of thing- meaning using general ideas (like charms already made with little hearts on them) for a product without doing something that might impinge on copyrights or patents? can I patent or copywrite my idea to create such type of jewelry-I will them mass produce them to sell..........HELP!!!!!!!!!!!any suggestions appreciated.

JETX

The internationally recognized symbol of the pink ribbon is very likely protected by trademark and your commercial use would require the owners permission.

From another site: