• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

slander

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

tkina1

Sorry, Paridice. I'm new at this. I posted my question on another new place, but I'll recap.

I got a formal, original lay off letter from the president of a college that I worked for (kindof). Actually, the college was fiscal agent for the non-profit I worked for. The letter plainly states that I was laid off due to lack of funds. However, my immediate supervisor, a dean, disclosed private personnel info to her subordinates. She said that I had been laid off because I had made the president uncomfortable because I asked him some pointed questions about the non-profit org.'s offer to transfer ownership of a very nice building. The NP was "driving a cadillac on a cavalier budget." This conversation took place outside any private office in a very public area in the college library.

I have been laid off 6 weeks and have yet to receive a call back on any employment inquiries. I don't know if the immediate supervisor has "mentioned" this to anyone else, but I feel that the others may discuss this further. As a matter of fact, that's how I found out.

The supervisor is a member of the non-profit board of directors.
Who's liable? The BOD of the college and the NP? The president? The VP who gave me the letter and conducted the exit interview? Anyone? Both organizations have liability insurance.

I did a bang up job for both. In the process, I had to start taking high blood pressure medicine. I'm still totally stressed out and ticked off.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
1. This is not even remotely close to slander.