• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

custody

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

angelfly

Hello...

I don't know where to start, well...I'll start from my beginning. The father of my child and I were never married. I got pregnant in Aug. of 1997. I told him the child was his. He left me on Jan. 1st, 1998. I have been raising my daughter since May 1998. In May 2000, he got a DNA test and found out our daughter is his. Now, without a custody agreement I have allowed him to see Rian, our daughter. He has seen her at the most 10 times, and has not shown up at least 5 times. He's moving to Florida in Sept. and asked to take her for 3 weeks. I kindly told him I thought it was too soon since she barely knew him and would be traumatic since she wouldn't know anyone else. Now, he's contacted his attorney. I am wondering if any of this can result in limited visitation for him...or if the child can be taken from me. The reason is, is that I do not earn a regular paycheck, per say. I am a live-in housekeeper/nanny for my roommate for our room and board. I am moving to a new apt soon and getting a real job. I am worried because I have everyone telling me two sides. Saying he can get her and saying he can't get her. I am also wondering when he gets visitation, because that's inevitable, do you think he can get her for months at a time...especially since he's moving out of state? I am worried as heck, and wondering. Thank you very much.

Stressed out mom

LegalBeagle