• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Nuisance Party Ticket

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pinta1jr

I'm a student in Michigan and recently we were given two nuisance party tickets. I'm wondering what we can do to either get rid of or reduce the charge. Also, what is the worst that can possibly come out of the ticket?

Here are the details as best as I can replay them.

My roommates and myself live in a fairly residential part of town (although there are several students around us). We were having a party in celebration of my roommates 21st birthday. We (the house and some friends who were staying with us) started drinking at around 7 playing some drinking games and what not. Let me note that I live in a house with 9 guys (9 rooms as well) and that we had approximately 10 or so guests planning to stay with us. By approximately 11 there had developed a decent crowd and the police arrived saying they had complaints of noise. We cleared the place out as best as we could and attempted to move the party to a student apartment complex. Upon leaving the officers notified us that if they were to return they were going to come in and clear the place out so it wouldn't take so long, which we said was fine.